Musings of an Orthodox Jew

Thoughts on Torah and the Jewish world today.

Translating Shnei Luchos HaBris

Ok, now to test if anyone is reading this and payign attention! LOL  No fault if no one is, its been a LONG time since I posted regularly.

So here is what I am asking:  I have two projects in mind and wonder if anyone is interested and what people would prefer to see:

1) A complete transliteration of the Shabbos service (Ma’ariv, Minchah, Shacharit) from Nusach Ashkenaz.  This one is due to the fact that recentyl I have had some people coming to shul that, while Orthodox, have largely disconnected and have trouble following the service.  The idea is to create a resource for them so they can follow easily (once downloaded and printed).  I know of the Artscroll transliterated siddur, but due to their financial difficulties they are not in a position to buy it (and refuse to accept it from me…

2)) A translation of Shnei Luchos HaBris (Teh Torah commentary by the Shlah, Rbbi Isaiah Horowitz rather than his full ethical/musar book of the same title- that I may do later but it is probably too esoteric to do) as I study it.  I will NOT include my own commentary or elucidation beyond that needed to make a clear translation

So any suggestions from out there?

April 29, 2014 - Posted by | Torah | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Welcome back to the world

    Comment by HachamGabriel | May 27, 2014 | Reply

    • Heh, now to actually do something on here!

      Comment by marc | May 27, 2014 | Reply

  2. Do you know of an existing version of Shnei Luehos Habris in english (the full ethical work)? If you were the first to do this it would be a great service to the world. Many blessings.

    Comment by shmuel | December 23, 2014 | Reply

    • I have never seen a translation of the full work and I would not want to make one either. The issue with translating it is the extent to which you would need to translate his kabbalistic comments and provide explanations so it would be understandable. I do not feel it is my place to undertake such a task as a translation without full explanations would be very easily misunderstood and lead people into error.

      Comment by marc | December 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

