Musings of an Orthodox Jew

Thoughts on Torah and the Jewish world today.

Comments on blogs…

Maye I’m strange- but when i read somebody elses blog I recognise it as their private space and an invitation to interact with them. If I choose to comment on something, I keep it polite, I try to discuss what is relevant, and I don’t attack the blogger. But thats me, it seems that I am in a minority!

Yep, few comments appear here- mainly because I just refuse to let anti-semitic hate speech be blasted across my blog, do not appreciate personal attacks (and will not allow them), and the ones replete with swear words and containing nothing of substance- well, do I even need to mention they will not appear?

Heres a few simple rules for anyone wanting to post a comment here- no hate speech, not swearing, no missionising (this blog is unabashedly Jewish- you want to lecture about Christianity and posts reams out of Christian texts- do it elsewhere) and no lashon hara.

For those who are not aware what lashon hara is- it translates as evil speech and includes gossip, hate speech, lying deliberately trying to embarass people. If you are uncertain if a comment qualifies as lashon hara- then rather don’t post it.

So yep, my blog is low on comments – I’d rather have that than the meaningless one liners whose sole purpose seems to be to show off the commentators swearing prowess, proselytising and anti-Semitic rants. Do I want people to read and comment? Obviously- else why would I bother posting in this blog? Do I want to get into arguments over religion or respond to personal attacks against me? Nope- and as this is my personal space, and it is my decision what appears here, such comments and attempts to engage in flame wars or personal attacks are just not going to appear!

July 1, 2008 - Posted by | Random

2 Comments »

  1. lol I like this post. It made me smile.

    I don’t have many comments on my blog either, although I will post anything, even if someone says I’m an ugly smelly loser. I don’t believe in censorship. But I do get where you are coming from: your blog, your rules, right? I do not think it is cool to harass someone regarding religion. Not cool at all.

    I do occasionally swear, but I have read your rules and will refrain from swearing here, in hopes that you will in fact post my comment.

    It was nice stopping by. I may visit again, and I extend the same invitation to you. Although it is doubtful that you will enjoy my blog. You would most likely deem it “meaningless,” although, in my humble opinion, that term is quite relative.

    Peace, blogger. 🙂

    Comment by umassslytherin | July 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. “Meaningless” is relative- and some “meaningless” blogs are the most fun to read! LOL

    Heh, yes, my blog is probably a lot more serious than most- but then thats me, a bit too serious for my own good at times! Now to stop by at your blog.

    Comment by marcl1969 | July 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

